You Are A Finisher!!!!

“Doing the best at this moment puts you in the best place for the next moment.” ~ Oprah Winfrey

This is my first blog on the subject of “participation” awards.  I suspect that I will have many more because I have several ideas on this subject.  I have participated in many 5K, 10K, and other runs as part of my fitness plan.  Many of these runs give medals to all who complete the run.  I also have earned many medals for finishing first. second, or third in my age group.  Often people will give you praise for one of the medals that I have for finishing in the top three and say nothing about the others. I have heard from people that they were “put down” for getting their “participation” medals.  Their lots of reasons that this thinking is wrong.  I will deal with three of them here:

First, I truly believe that the only competition that you have is with your last performance. If you are running a race, then your competition is your last race. If you are working, then your competition might be having better quality than you did on a previous project. Either way you deserve to be rewarded for improvement.

Second, success breeds success. How we talk to ourselves is so very important.  Once you show yourself that you can hit a goal in one endeavor, it will give you confidence in other endeavors.

Third, you have done something that people often find difficult to do.  You finished something.  You set out to do something, and then you did it.  This is also evidence to yourself that you finish what you start.  Even if it is difficult.

Next time that you receive a medal, a ribbon, or a certificate for finishing something give it and yourself the respect that you and the award deserve.

Kevin

 

 

Leave a Reply

